My Birthday

screen-shot-2017-02-04-at-4-52-13-pm

 

Woo hoo, today I woke up to my birthday!  I am so blessed to have made it to 47, is it? Gosh, how time flies, I am 47 years young!  It feels good too, so I am not at all one to complain.  How can I?  I am finding so much peace with every passing year.  I used to really dread my birthday in the past, it was always a very melancholy day for me but that is simply not the case any longer.  I am in the best shape of my life and I have no stress to speak of.

img_8427img_8456img_8442

 

Last night we got the party started early by going out to eat at an awesome little raw vegan cafe called Zen Mystery Cafe, right here in SoFlo.  Mark wanted me to have the experience in tasting different kinds of raw vegan fare and it was so good!  The place had a very earthy, peaceful, zen-like vibe to it and after dinner, we sat down to enjoy some music at their open-mic night.  Who knows?  Maybe in a few months we can bring our instruments out there and do a few songs?

screen-shot-2017-02-04-at-5-00-36-pm

Tonight we are going to go to a local park and look at the stars.  We did something similar back in Silver City and had an awesome time being able to see the Milky Way through a telescope. Now I am not expecting the same things as we experienced in New Mexico (with its clear skies) but I am sure that we will have a wonderful time.  It’s all about the simple things these days for me.  I am so over pre-occupying myself over stuff that really does not matter.  Why not just live, love and grow?  That is what I am finally able to do now.  Today

Today I received a call from my mom.  Although we do not agree on much these days, she wished me a happy birthday.  We spoke for a while and just had a great time catching up.  I am still so grateful to have her and although it has pained me to lose the closeness that we once shared prior to transitioning, I still love her and appreciate her.  She is almost 84 years old but she does very well for herself and she lives a nice quiet life in California.  I hope to see her again before she passes on but I know that even if I do not, that she loves me.

I guess that what I am trying to say through all of this is that I am grateful.  Grateful for the good and yes grateful for the bad.  Because had I had neither or just one of those experiences, I would not be the person that I am today.  That person is much different than the person that I was and that to me is a good thing.

img_8412

 

Leave a Reply

